Making Strawberry Jam

Strawberry Jam

With the great sales on strawberries this past week I couldn’t pass up the chance to try out some homemade jam! I love to spend time in my kitchen especially when I need to forget about the rest of the world and Saturday was the perfect day for that! I headed out early with the girls to the store to get strawberries and cans for canning and headed home. I spent most of my day in the kitchen and loved it!

I can’t believe how easy it is to make Strawberry jam!

8 cups strawberries hulled (this was about 4 containers maybe just a little less) — You need 5 Cups Crushed
7 cups Sugar (almost a full 5 lb bag)
1 box (1.75 oz) Pectin
1/2 Teaspoon Butter

Hull strawberries. Put 1 cup of strawberries in a big pot and mash them up. I used a potato masher! Continue to add strawberries until they are all mashed.

Stir in Pectin & Butter.  Heat on high stirring constantly.  Once you have a full rolling boil that you can’t stir down add the sugar all at once. 

Bring mixture back to a rolling boil.  Once it’s reached that point let it boil for 1 minute. Be sure to stir constantly.  Then remove it from the heat. With a metal ladle, ladle off any foam on the top.

That’s it! You have homemade jam!

Now for the canning part! The recipe made enough for 11 half pint jars of jam.

You will need to use the water bath method to can jam. You can use a presser canner as a water bath canner I found information on how to do so here. I would suggest starting your water at the same time as the jam because getting that rolling boil in that heavy pan can really take a while. You will need your water to reach 180 degrees F.  Be sure to start with extra water to count for evaporation.

Keep your jars and lids hot and clean before use. I fill my sink with hot water and let them sit in there until I need them. One by one ladle in your jam leaving ¼” headspace. Wipe the rim off with a damp towel and put the lid on top and screw the band around that. Your jar is going to be very hot at this point so keep a clean towel around to hold on to the jar when you screw the band on. (be sure to consult the directions that came with the jars for packing jars)


Carefully set the jar in your canner (with a can lifter remember you water is hot/boiling). Be sure you don’t over fill your canner by exceeding the maximum amount of jars by size for your canner. Once they are all in the canner make sure you have at least 1 inch of water over the top of the jars.
Once you have a rolling boil you can put the lid on. Remember you don’t need pressure so make sure you removed the overpressure plug and pressure regulator beforehand. Make sure the vent pipe on the canner lid is clear.

Once the lid is on and you can hear that you still have a rolling boil your time starts. For this jam you will need to process for 5 minutes. You may want to lower the heat setting to maintain your boil.

When the processing time is up remove from heat and take the lid off. Careful there will be lots of steam! Remove the jars one by one with the jar lifter and place on a towel on the counter. You don’t want to set them directly on the counter because the contrast in temperature can break the jars.

Once you start putting them on the towel you will start to hear this great little Ping sound! That is the jar sealing! I have to tell you this round of Jam I made Saturday sung a little song when I took them out of the canner! One after one ping, ping, ping, ping, ping. It was really cool to hear it! You will totally get what I mean when you hear it. I’ve made spaghetti sauce and canned it before but that took more time for the pings and they weren’t all together! It’s neat to hear that your work is working! Let the jars sit on the towel untouched for 12 hours. After that you can check to make sure they sealed properly and if they didn’t you can use right away or reprocess.

Be sure to label it so you remember 6 months from now what kind of jam you have! Remember you can reuse the jars as long as they are in good condition so it’s best to put your label on the lid of the jar, those cannot be reused.

Last step? ENJOY! 

Now for the price break out:

For Strawberry Jam I figured its $0.61 each portion. For canned I figured its $1.44 each jar of jam. That’s cheaper than the grocery store brand or name brand with a coupon and you made it so you know just what is in it!!!

This is Linked to the Ultimate Recipe Swap at Life As Mom

About Amy

Hi, I'm Amy, Mom of 2 young girls and Wife to a great man, Adrian. Join me as I blog about my frugal adventures, deals and every day life as I strive in Living The Domestic Life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Making Strawberry Jam

  1. Sheryl says:

    Wow! I want to can some strawberries too…but I have to get some jars first 🙂 Great step-by-step!! You make me want to jump out and do it now! 🙂

Leave a Reply

