How Coupons Can Help You Donate More!

I’ve purchased these items over that last few weeks the intentions of donating them to the food pantry at Church.  If I were to purchase these same items today without matching coupons to sales I would easily pay about $43 for everything here.  When you are intentionally trying to lower your food budget an extra $43 just wont fit in.  Do you think $2 will?  Would you belive I paid less than $2 for all 32 items above.  It’s true!  By matching coupons with sales & buying as many as I had coupons for, it allowed me to maximize my savings and donate the extras. 

The only items that were not completely free were the canned tomatoes and the Nature Valley Nut Clusters although they were pretty close to it.  If your already making a trip to the store and already matching up your coupons and deals why not add the extra free stuff to donate? 

 

 

I paid out-of-pocket for all the items in the picture a total of $0.98?  $0.98 for 21 bars of soap 2 toothbrushes & 1 toothpaste pretty good huh? 

All of the extra toiletry item I am able to purchase this year are going to Operation Christmas Child Program.  Through our Church we will put together 300 shoe boxes for Boys in need.  We will be able to give them simple necessities that we take for granite like soap and a toothbrush & toothpaste.  We will send them baseballs & some candy, a shirt and a hat, a few writing instruments and paper.  Most importantly these Boy will learn The Good News of Jesus Christ.  

By matching coupons with sales at the lowest prices I can contribute more items more often.  Since we coupon-ers like to purchase all the free items we can get why not put them to good use?  My hope is you will see how easy it can be to donate and help others with the use of coupons…. since you’re using them anyway!   

I hope you’ve been encouraged!!!

 

 

 

This post is linked to WFMW at We Are That Family & Furgal Friday at Life As Mom

Check out Spectacular Savings for more great donations

About Amy

Hi, I'm Amy, Mom of 2 young girls and Wife to a great man, Adrian. Join me as I blog about my frugal adventures, deals and every day life as I strive in Living The Domestic Life.
This entry was posted in Coupons and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to How Coupons Can Help You Donate More!

  1. Pingback: Giving on a Small Budget :: Money Saving Mom℠

  2. Pingback: Giving on a Small Budget | The Coupon Blogs

  3. AllieZirkle says:

    This is a great reminder of why I need to keep up with my coupon clipping!! Thanks for the positive nudge 😉

    Allie

  4. Love the idea of sharing generously with others through the stock pile 🙂

    We have a lot of guest speakers/missionaries in our home and I have always invited them to take freely from our surplus of toothpaste, toothbrushes, razors, deodorant, etc.
    I felt a bit funny at first showing them the shelves and saying “Help yourself” but they have all appreciated and enjoyed it. It sometimes takes a bit of urging on my part to convince them “No really – take ALL that you can use!” but they almost all end up taking months worth of stuff for themselves. It’s kinda fun to be able to do that for people!

  5. I was just able to donate a ton of stuff to my synagogue’s food and toiletries drive: http://meindeals.blogspot.com/2010/04/donating.html. Most of it was free or super cheap. It makes me feel good to donate and I get a rush from getting a good deal.

    • Amy says:

      I know what you mean that rush from a good deal! And a second rush for being able to give it all away! Awesome. I can’t wait to check your site out tonight! Thanks for stopping by

      Amy. @ Living The Domestic Life

  6. Eos Mom says:

    Very wise–great idea!

  7. This is great! It is amazing what we can do with coupons. There are so many products that I can get for FREE or for very little that I won’t use. Why not spend a little extra time clipping those coupons to “buy” things for others! Thanks for being such an inspiration to others!

    I have a weekly feature called Save More, Give More that encourages people to do the same thing. I would love it if you would link up!

    http://www.spectacularsavings.net/2010/04/save-more-give-more_12.html

  8. Pingback: Giving on a Small Budget | theoffertree.com

  9. Amy – Thanks so much for posting this! I budget $5 each week for donation deals and love hunting down the best deals! Each week on my site I encourage people to buy things for themselves and a few for others, and love seeing other bloggers doing the same. You’re deals are amazing – I love seeing how coupons can help our own families and others!

  10. Amy says:

    That is so cool. My daughter makes fun of me because of the “girl products” but I told her if we get too many you can go with me to donate to this home for Young, Unwed Moms. She instantly stopped mocking and got excited about what could be done.

  11. Amber says:

    Hi Amy, I love finding more blogger who are using their couponing talents to help others.

    I would love it if you would link up at Shop to Give Sunday my weekly giving meme

    http://simoneysavers.com/2010/04/11/shop-to-give-sunday-week-11/

    Amber

  12. Robbie says:

    Another idea is the freebies. I usually will sign up for free formula and other samples to donate to local pantries.

  13. niki says:

    Hi there! Niki here, dropping in from over at Free 2 Be Frugal. I really enjoyed your Frugal Friday post…using your super powers to help others is truly a good idea.

    Stop by and see me sometime.

    🙂

  14. Sherry says:

    What a great idea! A lot of times I won’t cut coupons as they are for things I don’t use, but I can always donate. 😀 Thanks for the idea!

    Have a great weekend!
    Sherry

    • Amy says:

      I’ve decided I need more coupon holders because I don’t cut all of the coupons out! There are a few deals I wish I didn’t pass up because they could have blessed someone else!

      Thanks for coming by!

      Amy

  15. Kathy says:

    So encouraged by this! We work with college students and in the past couple of months I have had more vision and desire to bless them with our coupon cheapies and freebies. Last night we gave a whole bag of goodies to one of our students who is involved in our ministry. He does not have much but is so grateful for what he has and never complains. I love lending a helping hand to him and others!

  16. Jane says:

    Thanks for this post, very encouraging!

    I was just thinking about Operation Christmas Child the other day and it dawned on me that I have been forgetting to put items aside for it. Our small community church would like to make a goal of sending out more this year than we did last year, so I’d better get busy!

    One question on donating for you. We give to the food bank once a month. Should we be adding this to our list of donations for tax purposes for the year? I’m not sure what to do with it, or maybe I shouldn’t even bother including it? When I think if an amount for the items I’m giving I’ve always used coupons and I just don’t know what is fair. Any thoughts on that?

    • Amy says:

      I am also making monthly donations to the food pantry. I am taking a picture of all the items before I take them over (one group picture). I was told when I donated them to just attach the recipte to the slip they gave me showing the donation for the value. For me that is a few reciepts and I don’t know that I will have them all (some get sent in for rebates). What i’m plannig to do is keep as many recipets as possible and just figure out on there what I paid. Most the items for donation were purchased for donation so its really easy to keep track of that amount. I’m keeping the picture, recpites and notes on prices all together so it will be really easy when tax time comes. I home this helps you out!

  17. cassie says:

    great post! i just pulled a bunch of stuff from my stockpile and plan on donating them this week 🙂

  18. Pingback: May’s Donation Update | LivingTheDomesticLife

  19. JR Teare says:

    I am glad more people are aware of this great service project. But let me take using coupons a step further without actually buying anything. Many people do not have access to coupons and need them. There is a website called grocerycouponsforfree.org that has a list of military bases you can send your expired coupons to. They also have a list of food shelves that you can send your unexpired coupons to. Both are great service projects and grocerycouponsforfree.org does a great job in explaining these programs. I hope more people get involved with these types of programs. These coupons go a long ways to helping people reduce their grocery bill!

Leave a Reply

