March Grocery Totals

Coupons!  Are they really worth it?  Clearly my answer would be a resounding YES!  It’s an easy answer for me since Coupon-ing quickly became a hobby for me about a year ago.  Matching coupons to sales and finding a great deal are equally exciting.  Bombarding family and friends with text pics of my glorious shopping trips became a must.

In February I started tracking our Grocery Savings to see how we did throughout the year.  Its checks and balance to keep the grocery budget of $75/week under control. 

Now that its April (already??) Its time to gather all the receipts for March and get them entered into the computer.  I grabbed the stash of receipts that I quickly tuck away after each shopping trip.  I scowered my purse for any left over receipts and I check the amazing junk drawer because somehow that drawer has a little bit of everything in it.  The stack was HUGE!  There were 17 receipts for the month of March.  Knowing I went to 2 stores a week for 5 weeks I should have had 10 receipts.  7 extra trips … well I guess I know what we need to work on next month!  I have to tell you I was holding my breath entering all the receipts in the spreadsheet!  With 7 extra trips how can we not be over budget?   Would you belive we were UNDER budget?? 

March Shelf Price:  $627.47                                  Coupons & Discounts 314.56. 
My total spent on Grocerys in March $312.91!!
  That is $62.09 under budget for the month!  Almost a whole weeks budget under!  I’m amazed!

This post is linked to WFMW

About Amy

Hi, I'm Amy, Mom of 2 young girls and Wife to a great man, Adrian. Join me as I blog about my frugal adventures, deals and every day life as I strive in Living The Domestic Life.
This entry was posted in Savings, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to March Grocery Totals

  1. jericho says:

    That is AMAZING!!! Seriously, when can I come over?

    • Amy says:

      Anytime! Start with collection coupons! You will need to build up a good selection. Check your email for an upcoming deal on Free Pasta at Frys!

  2. mom2fur says:

    Great job!!!! I’ve been couponing for years now and love to see those discounts. A hobby, yes, but a hobby that pays better than $20/hour, LOL!
    I never thought to actually keep a list of my savings. I think I’ll give that a try so I can amaze myself even more, LOL! (Hey, we need all the encouragement we can get!)

    • Amy says:

      You are so right! I high dollar paying hobbie! I will see if I can find the maker of the sheet I use and send it on your way!

      Thanks for stopping by!
      Amy @ Living The Domestic Life .com

Leave a Reply

