Once A Month Cooking – Kind Of – Update

Potato Rolls

Well I think my bread machine is a goner.  I attempted to make Whole Wheat Pita Pockets using the dough cycle and it didn’t rise not even a little!  The last round of bread I used the dough cycle on didn’t rise either but I thought it was the recipe.  Maybe the bread machine is jealous of my mixer since I’ve been using that more often!  

Night 3 plan did not happen since I discovered pretty late that no rising had taken place.  

Today I made a batch of Ultimate Chocolate Chip Cookies (instead of muffins) and Potato Rolls.  Still to come Cinnamon rolls and whole wheat pita pockets.  However the cinnamon rolls were a bread machine recipe so I’m not sure if I’m going to attempted them by hand … that is a lot of work!  

The Rolls are awesome!  They don’t take a whole lot of effort but the taste is wonderful!  I used the Potato Rolls Recipe from the Better Homes & Gardens New Cook Book.  

4 to 4 1/2 Cups All Purpose Flour
1 Package Active Dry Yeast  (2 1/4 teaspoons)
1 Cup Milk
1/4 Cup Water
1/4 Cup Sugar
1/4 Cup Shortening
1 1/2 Teaspoons Salt
1 Egg beaten
1/2 Cup Mashed Potato (boil 1 medium peeled & quartered potato 20 min then mash & measure)  **I used 3/4 cup** 

1.  In a large mixing bowl combine 2 cups of the flour and yeast.  In a saucepan heat and stir milk, water, sugar, shortening and salt just until warm (120-130 F) and shortening almost melts:  add to flour mixture along with egg and masted potato.  Beat with mixer on low/med for 30 seconds.  Scrape the sides of the bowl down and beat on high-speed for 3 minutes.
*the instructions then say to use a wooden spoon to stir in remaining flour but I just continued on with my mixer and slowly added the remaining  2 1/2 cups of flour.  

2.  Turn dough out to floured surface.  Knead in enough remaining flour to make a moderately stiff dough that is smooth and elastic ** again I let my mixer do the work.  I attached the kneading hook and let it go for 6 minutes**  If you knead it by hand the instructions recommend 6-8 minutes.  Shape dough into a ball place in lightly greased bowl, turning once to grease the top.  Cover and let rise in a warm place until double.  (about 1 hour) 

3. Punch dough down and turn on floured surface.  Divide dough in half.  Cover & let rest for 10 minutes.  lightly grease two baking sheet and divide each dough half into 12 pieces.  Gently pull each piece into a ball tucking edges under to make smooth tops.  Place on baking sheet and cover.  Let rise in a warm place until nearly doubled in size (45 min)  ** mine did not double sitting on the counter.  With 15 mins left of rising time I turned my oven to 350 once it was half way preheated I turned it off and put the baking sheets in the oven to finish rising.  I let them go 20 past the 45 min mark and the were doubled!  **
 

4.  Preheat oven to 400F bake for 10 minutes or until golden brown.  Remove immediately from baking sheet.  

Make-ahead Directions:  Prepare as above through step 3, except do not let rise after shaping.  Cover shaped rolls loosely with plastic wrap, leaving enough room for dough to rise.  Chill for 2 to 24 hours.  Let stand, loosely covered, at room temperature for 30 minutes.  Uncover and bake as directed. 

Directions and recipe from Better Homes & Garden Cook Book with some adaptations. 

More Once A Month Cooking – Kind Of
Night One
Night Two 

 Visit Money Saving Mom for more OAMC

About Amy

Hi, I'm Amy, Mom of 2 young girls and Wife to a great man, Adrian. Join me as I blog about my frugal adventures, deals and every day life as I strive in Living The Domestic Life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Once A Month Cooking – Kind Of – Update

  1. Connie says:

    I have a mixer and have never made bread with it. I’ve been toying with buying a bread machine. hmm…not sure what to do. Love the recipe, may have to give it a try. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Amy says:

    Connie, I would give it a try in your mixer first! Do you have a kneading hook attachment? It will do all the kneading for you so all you have to do is transfer the dough from the bowl to the bread pan! I also like that you make a bigger loaf the bread machine pan tends to be a bit dense for my liking. Let me know how it goes!

    Amy

Leave a Reply

