Once A Month Cooking – Kind Of!

 

Later this week Crystal from Money Saving Mom & Jessica from Life As Mom are holding their once a month cooking day and I’ve decided to give this a try!  Although my focus won’t be on dinners for the month I do plan to get a nice amount of baking done. 

My goal is to slowly work on the list all week.  I work weekdays and my time in the evening is limited so slow but steady is the plan! 

 I’m hoping to make a loaf of white bread, a triple batch of English Muffins (oh my are they good), a batch of bagels, a double (maybe triple) batch of pancakes, a batch whole wheat pita pockets, dinner rolls (haven’t decided which recipe yet) as many Mini Blueberry Muffins as I have blueberries for and a single batch of mini chocolate chip muffins.  I would love to try this method for cinnamon rolls too if there is time! 

 My hope is to have easy breakfast ready to go for easy mornings.  The bagels and English muffins can be popped right into the toaster from the freezer or take out one or two the night before if you want them soft.  I’m most excited about the pancakes.  Caylee loves pancakes!  Having them ready to go should brighten her mornings (I need all the help I can get; she is so not a morning person). 

 Thankfully I keep my baking supplies stocked.  With the great price of flour and sugar lately I have quiet the surplus and I won’t need to make any additional trips to the store.  No extra trip to the store well that’s money in my pocket!  Another reason I love the buy ahead method. 

Here is my plan:

Monday:  White Bread – one loaf, Pancakes   we will also be planting our garden Monday night! 
Tuesday:  English Muffins, Mini Blueberry Muffins
Wed:   No baking!  We have church!
Thursday:  Whole Wheat Pita Pockets (these freeze amazingly well), Mini Chocolate Chip Muffins, Dinner rolls
Friday:  Bagels, Cinnamon Rolls

 That’s the plan now lets see what actually happens!

Update:
Night One
Night Two

About Amy

Hi, I'm Amy, Mom of 2 young girls and Wife to a great man, Adrian. Join me as I blog about my frugal adventures, deals and every day life as I strive in Living The Domestic Life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

