Citizen Kim Whole Wheat Bread

I received this recipe from a fellow church go-er.  This is the only wheat bread recipe you will ever need!  It is so good you wont ever need to buy Wheat Bread from the store again!

 

Citizen Kim Whole Wheat Bread

1/4 Cup Honey
1 1/2 Cup water
1 TBSP Olive Oil
1/2 Cup + 1 Cup Whole Wheat Flour
1 Cup + 1 Cup All Purpose Flour
2 1/4 Teaspoon Yeast
1 1/2 Teaspoon Salt
 
1.  Place honey and water together in a glass liquid measuring cup and place in the microwave for one minute.  Mix together until blended and add olive oil.
 
2.  Meanwhile place 1/2 cup whole wheat and 1 cup all-purpose flours in the bowl of an electric mixer.  Sprinkle with yeast.
 
3.  Pour honey mixture over flours and yeast and allow to rest 5 minutes.  Then mix on low until combined.  Add remaining flours and sprinkle with salt.  Mix on low until dough is formed and comes away from the bowl, add more flour if necessary.  Then “knead” on low speed for 5 minutes.
 
4.  Allow dough to rest for 10 minutes then shape into a greased loaf pan and let rise in a warm place for 1 hour. 
 
5.  Bake in a preheated over at 375 degrees for 35 minutes.  Let rest 5 minutes before turning loaf out onto cooling rack.
 
6.  Wait until it is cooled before slicing.
 
With the great deal on flour this week be sure to stock up for some great bread making!
 
For more great recipes visit Life As Mom U.R.S.
Visit The Grocery Cart Challenge for more recipes
 
About Amy

Hi, I'm Amy, Mom of 2 young girls and Wife to a great man, Adrian. Join me as I blog about my frugal adventures, deals and every day life as I strive in Living The Domestic Life.
This entry was posted in Food! and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Citizen Kim Whole Wheat Bread

  1. niki says:

    Sounds like awesome bread! I wonder if I could make this in my bread machine? Hmmm….

    Did you ever try it?

  2. Amy says:

    Niki – I haven’t tried it in the bread machine because I prefer the larger loaf. My bread machine has a pretty small loaf pan! However I do love yo use my bread machine for the dough cycle. Just drop the ingredients in
    – come back when its done transfer to a bread pan and bake!

    Thanks for stopping by!
    Amy

Leave a Reply

